Search This Blog

Thursday, May 29, 2014

FEMA Announces 2014 Youth Preparedness Council Members

FEMA News Release:

FEMA Announces 2014 Youth Preparedness Council Members

Main Content
Release date: 
MAY 29, 2014
Release Number: 
WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is pleased to announce the members of the 2014-2015 FEMA National Youth Preparedness Council.
FEMA’s Youth Preparedness Council was formed in 2012 to bring together youth leaders from across the country interested in advocating on behalf of youth preparedness and making a difference in their communities. The Council supports FEMA’s commitment to involving youth in preparedness-related activities. It also provides an avenue to engage youth by taking into account their perspectives, feedback and opinions.
Young people play an important role in raising emergency preparedness awareness. Preparedness education empowers youth to keep themselves and others safe in an emergency; encourages them to share preparedness information with their families, schools and communities; and reduces anxiety about potential disasters. The Youth Preparedness Council members represent the youth perspective on emergency preparedness, and they share information with their communities.
The 2014 application process produced a large number of highly qualified applicants. The 12 newest members of the Council were selected based on their dedication to public service, community involvement and potential to expand their impact as national advocates for youth preparedness.
The distinguished members selected in 2014 are as follows:
• FEMA Region I: Bridget Smith (Connecticut)
• FEMA Region II: James Collins (New Jersey)
• FEMA Region III: Sahara Duncan (Pennsylvania)
• FEMA Region IV: Jonathan Salazar (Florida)
• FEMA Region V: Isaiah Garcia (Michigan)
• FEMA Region VI: Obie Jones (Texas)
• FEMA Region VII: Austin Witt (Iowa)
• FEMA Region VIII: Weston Lee (Utah)
• FEMA Region VIII: Matthew Mayfield (Colorado)
• FEMA Region IX: Brittany Amano (Hawaii)
• FEMA Region IX: Navjot Hansra(California)
• FEMA Region X: Raylene Ensminger(Washington)

The returning Council members are as follows:
• Council Chairperson: Emily Rosenblum (Missouri)
• FEMA Region II:  Sophie Friedfeld-Gebaide (New York)
• FEMA Region V:  Daniel Wernsman (Wisconsin)

Each Council member completes a self-selected legacy project during his or her term. Council members also participate in a Youth Preparedness Council Summit where they share their ideas, opinions and questions about youth disaster preparedness with the leadership of national organizations working on this critical priority. During the summit, they will determine their legacy projects and meet with FEMA community preparedness staff who will be their ongoing FEMA support contacts and mentors. Members also meet with FEMA throughout their term to provide input on strategies, initiatives and projects.
To learn more about FEMA’s youth preparedness efforts, please visit
Follow FEMA online at and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.
FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.
Last Updated: 
May 29, 2014 - 13:20

No comments:

Post a Comment